Help with SDA-2 and Amp

gnu333
gnu333 Posts: 15
edited June 2007 in Vintage Speakers
I have run across a pair of SDA-2’s and need advice.
I currently have a low-end polk Home Theatre system (RM6800, RM2300 surrounds, RM2600 center, PSW 350 sub)
I want to upgrade my fronts as I’ve moved into a larger house, and just purchased a pair of R50’s last week for 170$. The same day my friends father was selling his original SDA-2’s, with all the manuals, along with his amp, a Yamaha M-60 for 200$. I’m pretty sure that the R50’s are being returned, but I want to make sure that the SDA’s will fit into my current HT system, as I am new to the SDA world. The SDA’s are in perfect working condition. My current receiver is a Sony STR-DE875, 100Wx5.

Q1) Is this a good price?
Q2) I know that the SDA’s are meant to be used alone in stereo, but will they also work as fronts in a 5.1 system?
Q3) The amp is working, but over the last 5 years he’s had to adjust the gain on the left side significantly higher then the right, in order for both channels to have a matched output. I’m not trying to purchase an amp right now; is this harming the speakers in any way? I’m assuming the problem lies in the amp, and not the speakers driving the amp down, correct? Do I hook the amp up between the speakers and my receiver speaker output?
Q4) Do I need an amp at all? Can I simply power it directly off my receiver, realizing that the speakers can handle up to 500W, is there any harm only giving them 100 (probably less the 100W as the specs are overrated)?

thanks
Post edited by gnu333 on

Comments

• dudeinaroom
    dudeinaroom Posts: 3,609
    edited June 2007