Is this a sign of SCAM

haimoc
haimoc Posts: 1,031
edited May 2007 in The Clubhouse
I posted my center speaker on Audiogon, and a buyer (no feedback) says he is buying it and in process of sending the payment to me? Here is the latest email that he sent... This email raised a red flag to me... This is my first time seeing something like this.... Wondering if any has any similar experience...
The price for speaker is $550, and he sends $4800.... See below email from him..

The buyer's Audiogon member id is Nick_bruno1976. This account was suspended by Audiogon.
Thanks.

=========================================================
Subject: LITTLE PROBLEM!!!

Hi ,

How are you doing.Hope everything is going fine on your side. As a matter fact the deal is on and according to my client,he has already sent the payment out to you(it will arrive by mail).So the payment should arrive in a short while from now.And once you get it, i guess you know how to handle everything.And please dont bother about any other buyer.

Beside there was a little problem which i guess we can handle with understanding.When i contacted my client to know maybe the cheque as already been sent ,i got to know that there was a misinterpretation while sending the cheque.

According to the instruction i gave him,he was suppose to have send you a cheque for your money but in the process he made a mistake by sending along the shipper fund with your money making the total to be $4800 USD...

Moreso, i know very well i told him to send just your payment,but i guess he didnt get it straigth. But that should not disturb our own transaction.The deal is on and we will get through it.what will happen is that ,once you get the cheque and cash it, deduct your own money for the item and $100 for your runing around,After that You will now easily forward the extra money directly to my shipper immediately. it can be sent via western union or moneygram..