Need advice on HU & Amplifier purchase!

whtlghtn49
whtlghtn49 Posts: 2
edited May 2007 in Car Audio & Electronics
Hey guys, I'm new here to Club Polk, but thought ya'll might offer me some advice nonetheless! Now, to begin with, I am very new to the car audio stuff, so ya'll please tell me if I am making a mistake or bad choice in anything I am doing! Thanks in advance for your time and advice!

Ok, so I have an old boat that I want to make some improvements on for wakeboarding, so I am starting with the stereo. I currently have an old AM/FM radio w/ 4 speakers, yet only 1 speaker works. So, here is what I am planning. Keep in mind I am just a student living entirely on student loans, so I want to make this as affordable as possible!

Items I've already purchased:

2 - Polk db650's to replace my old 6.5" speakers in the rear of the boat. Got these on closeout for $56 shipped, so I'm pleased about that!

2 - Polk db690's to replace some old "box-like" speakers under the driver and passenger side dashes, where your feet go. I really don't want to be cutting into the boat much, so I thought about getting some 6 x 9 enclosures for them and mounting them up under there very near where the current speakers are mounted. That sound ok?

Items I am still debating about:

A head unit!

An Amplifier

Possibly a subwoofer -- in the future, if ever!

Ok, here is where I'd like to have ya'lls advice!

Question #1 - the head unit!
I am trying to keep a tight budget, so I can't go all out. My first question is this...do I need to be concerned about the # of pre-amp outlets included on the head unit I purchase? Someone suggested to me to find one with at least 2 pre-amp outputs. Is that the case? I plan on running only a single 4-channel amp initially, but perhaps may add one later to run a sub, or maybe I'll buy a 5-channel amp now?? Anyways, how many pre-amp outlets should I look for?

Question #2 - the amp!