"Four dead in Ohio . . . ."

schwarcw
schwarcw Posts: 7,335
edited May 2007 in The Clubhouse
May 4, 1970, a few of us here are old enough to remember the tragedy 37 years ago. I was a freshman in college, we didn't have too many anti-war demonstrations. I was not a peace activist, I was probably a pro Viet Nam person. I had friends over there, lost friends over there, but I believed it was the right thing to make a stand against the threat of Communism. I remembered the Cuban missile crisis, the assassination of JFK and was very pro government.

When the Ohio National Guardsman killed four students at Kent State that day, I wasn't outraged. I figured that were out of control. After all the war protesters had burned the ROTC building in Michigan, sit ins, shut ins, etc. I thought it was all ****.

Today, I look back at it as a sad day for Americans. I feel for the families of those kids, the Guardsman, all of whom paid a high price for freedom. The freedom to express their opinions no matter what they are. There were very few stories written about this today. As I started to Google the opinions and commentaries about this shootings 37 years ago, I was startled that none of the news media bothered to mention the names of the four dead students who lost their lives that day.

Rest in peace: Jeffrey Miller, Allison Krause, Sandra Schuer and William Schroeder.
Carl

Post edited by schwarcw on

Comments

• janmike
    janmike Posts: 6,146
    edited May 2007
    Well Carl, even though I am north of the 48th, hell I'm north of the 60th parallel, I clearly remember that day. I was your typical protesting student back then and that was a sad day indeed. Innocent people killed for a cause. Go figure. RIP all.
    Michael ;)
    In the beginning, all knowledge was new!

NORTH of 60°
  • audiobliss
    audiobliss Posts: 12,518
    edited May 2007
    Hats off.
    Jstas wrote: »
    Simple question. If you had a cool million bucks, what would you do with it?