Polk Monitor 12's

Options
polkdaddy20
polkdaddy20 Posts: 4
edited April 2007 in Vintage Speakers
Just discovered the forum last week as I have run across a pair of Monitor 12s for sale and didn't know too much about them. For the price ($175) I am going to pick them up but would like to know more about them. Great site and glad to see there is so much interest in Polks especially the vintage equip. I have a pair of SDA 2Bs a 5Jr center channel and 4.6s as a rear fill that I've been using for close to 16 years and I too have had similar experiences as posted here........Listened to the new stuff (both Polk and other) and leave the store wondering why I would spend $ to go backward.

I have searched both here and on the web but am not coming up with too much on the monitor 12s except they seem to be pretty rare. Will they compare favorably to the SDA 2Bs? What was the standard tweeter and should I look to upgrade? These came with stands correct? Any other info would be greatly appreciated, such as why a short production run? Differences in series? I'll add more once I've seen the speakers.
Thanks!
Paul
HT
Polk SDA2B
Polk 5Jr Center
Polk Monitor 4.6 Rears
Yamaha RXV-3000
Sony DVD/CD
Sunfire True Subwoofer Junior

2 Channel
JBL 325A (Soon to be monitor 12's)
Onkyo TXSV-Pro70
Onkyo DX 1800 CD Player
Post edited by polkdaddy20 on

Comments

• NeilGabriel
    NeilGabriel Posts: 1,487
    edited April 2007
    Options