How to set C400.4 dials

JBHorne
JBHorne Posts: 28
edited February 2007 in Car Audio & Electronics
Hello. I am new to the forums but not to Polk! I have been installing Polk products in home theaters for a few years, but this is my first attempt at car audio. I installed everything myself in a 2006 Ford Explorer Eddie Bauer.

My setup:

Pioneer AVIC-Z1
Front Doors - Polk Audio MMC5250 (passive crossover / single input)
Rear Doors - Polk Audio MMC570
Subwoofer - Polk Audio SR124DVC
All new wiring running directly to amplifiers
C400.4 for all 4 door speakers
C500.1 for subwoofer
Plus capacitor, distributed fuses, etc.

Anyways, I am running into a problem. The door speakers all sound funny. They are sharp in the upper range but lack midrange "punch". I have the equalizer set to flat, HPF off, and no other "enhancements". I guess I must have a problem with my settings on the amp. I am testing this with the sub turned off, and I just don't seem to hear any midrange. I honestly have not spent any time tweaking anything yet, but how should I set the switches and gains on the C400.4? It is frustrating me because I am simply not getting any good midrange out of any of the four speakers! I don't mean that it is just "not there"...it is...just "muted".

Any suggestions to start with? What about the "Crossover x1 or x10" settings and such?

Thank you very much!
Justin
Post edited by JBHorne on

Comments

• vawakemonster
    vawakemonster Posts: 131
    edited February 2007
    I think your speakers could be out of phase check your wiring.
    Dodge Dakota
    HU: Pioneer
    Amp: Profile AP600 & Phoenix gold r2.5:2
    Speakers: Boston SX 6.5 components
    Subwoofer: polk mm2104
  • MacLeod
    MacLeod Posts: 14,358
    edited February 2007
    Welcome to the Club brother.

A few things: