Driver Pensions... Uggghh

m00npie
m00npie Posts: 697
edited February 2007 in The Clubhouse
http://www.wjla.com/news/stories/0207/395007.html

Although my heart goes out to drivers such as Jerry Nadeau and his situation, I think the #24 & 20 are totally wrong on this. These guys get paid big money and they want the sport to take care of them when they stop racing just because other sports do and they can't effectively manage their own money? Well, I'm an independent business owner that does work for Fortune 500 companies, should they contribute to my pension because they make Billions? Not going to happen nor should it. (Bad analogy, I know, since although I help save them money, I’m just a part of the cost center and not the revenue generator)

Anyway, just under 2 weeks to go!!
Post edited by m00npie on

Comments

• Refefer
    Refefer Posts: 1,280
    edited February 2007
    I'm not entirely sure I agree with you on this Moon. I mean: look at every other sport out there, and you'll see huge payouts, pensions, medical insurance, and others paid by the teams and management. There risks of injury are about on par with Nascar with the exception that it's much easier to die due to it.

Nascar is the most popular sport in the nation, and although I'm not a fan, I think the drivers should have some security in their futures. Honestly, it's not gonna cost Nascar that much.
    Lovin that music year after year.

Main 2 Channel System

Polk SDA-1B,
    Promitheus Audio TVC SE,
    Rotel RB-980BX,
    OPPO DV-970HD,
    Lite Audio DAC AH,
    IXOS XHA305 Interconnects

Computer Rig

Polk SDA CRS+,
    Creek Audio 5350 SE,
    Morrow Audio MA1 Interconnect,
    HRT Music Streamer II
  • F1nut
    F1nut Posts: 50,428
    edited February 2007
    Eh, it's not F1, the most popular sport in the world, who cares?
    Political Correctness'.........defined