Polk & Designs

Options
BobMcG
BobMcG Posts: 1,585
edited July 2001 in Technical/Setup
Has Polk experimented with the use of kevlar drivers or at least considered doing so? Are you equiping your new "upscale speaker series" (LSi's) with quality, gold five way binding posts? And if not, why?
Post edited by BobMcG on

Comments

• Aaron
    Aaron Posts: 1,853
    edited July 2001
    Options
    I think it's interesting to note that the older RT series (RT12, RT16) had gold 5-way binding posts that look and feel a lot nicer than the new gold/plastic 5-way posts. What happened?

Aaron
  • Micah Cohen
    Micah Cohen Posts: 2,022
    edited July 2001
    Options
    I have little if any knowledge of use here.

I know we make spiders out of a Kevlar-like material (I think it's the same thing -- bulletproof -- but we're not allowed to call it Kevlar), but I was under the impression that using that same material for a cone would not work: too stiff, fragile.

Also, the binding posts on the new LSi's are very very nice: solid "gold" (all metal). Nice connections and nice connectors.

MC
    ultramicah@yahoo.com

"There's nothing funny about a clown in the moonlight." - Lon Chaney
  • BobMcG
    edited July 2001
    Options
    Thanks.

I asked about the kevlar drivers because I believe they're in use by at least a couple of companies.

I should have known the LSi's were using gold plated five ways. I found it while re-reading an article I have on them. Sometimes I have a memory like a ..... I forget what.
  • polkster13
    polkster13 Posts: 37
    edited July 2001
    Options
    Where did you get information on the new LSi series speakers? I cannot find any details.:mad:

Your help is greatly appreciated.:D
  • George Grand
    George Grand Posts: 12,258
    edited July 2001
    Options