Newbie with a question about crossovers

Wolfhound
Wolfhound Posts: 2
edited December 2006 in Car Audio & Electronics
Well first off I am a newbie when it comes to audio equipment. I also searched for an answer but didn't find it. I have a set of Polk Audio MOMO MMC525 speakers I am putting in my Cobra. I hooked up the crossover like the sticker on the crossover said. I have the tweeter and the woofer going to the out connections and just the tweeter in going to my radio. I am only barely able to hear a slight tinny music sound from the tweeter. Am I hooking this up wrong. Thanks in advane.
Post edited by Wolfhound on

Comments

• MacLeod
    MacLeod Posts: 14,358
    edited December 2006
    Welcome to the Club!

The frequncies coming from the tweeter arent going to sound like much and will sound like tinny thin music. You should still be able to make out some imaging cues like voices, snare drums and the like.

If you have the crossover hooked up according to the instruction manual and the tweet sounds good when played with the mid then Id say youve got it.
    polkaudio sound quality competitor since 2005
    MECA SQ Rookie of the Year 06 ~ MECA State Champ 06,07,08,11 ~ MECA World Finals 2nd place 06,07,08,09
    08 Car Audio Nationals 1st ~ 07 N Georgia Nationals 1st ~ 06 Carl Casper Nationals 1st ~ USACi 05 Southeast AutumnFest 1st

polkaudio SR6500 --- polkaudio MM1040 x2 -- Pioneer P99 -- Rockford Fosgate P1000X5D
  • audiobliss
    audiobliss Posts: 12,518
    edited December 2006
    "and just the tweeter in going to my radio"

I don't quite get what it is you're saying. Maybe Mac does since he's actually seen a Polk crossover.
    Jstas wrote: »
    Simple question. If you had a cool million bucks, what would you do with it?
    Wonder WTF happened to the rest of my money.
    In Use
    PS3, Yamaha CDR-HD1300, Plex, Amazon Fire TV Gen 2
    Pioneer Elite VSX-52, Parasound HCA-1000A
    Klipsch RF-82ii, RC-62ii, RS-42ii, RW-10d
    Epson 8700UB