Random oil change question....

VR3
VR3 Posts: 28,528
edited December 2006 in Car Audio & Electronics
On the oil filter, it has a rubber ring on the inner part where you screw it in - normally when I changed it at my grandpaws, we used a oil can thingy with oil in it to put on there - I dont have that, is there an alternative likes vaseline or something?

Im new to this, Im just acquiring all the things I would need to get this done...

Thanks in advance!
- Not Tom ::::::: Any system can play Diana Krall. Only the best can play Limp Bizkit.
Post edited by VR3 on

Comments

• Frank Z
    Frank Z Posts: 5,860
    edited November 2006
    Engine oil
    9/11 - WE WILL NEVER FORGET!! (<---<<click)
    2005-06 Club Polk Football Pool Champion!! :D
  • VR3
    edited November 2006
    How about the engine oil that came out of the truck, suitable? or does it need to be fresh? ;)

Thanks
    - Not Tom ::::::: Any system can play Diana Krall. Only the best can play Limp Bizkit.
  • exalted512
    exalted512 Posts: 10,735
    edited November 2006
    i have no clue what youre talking about.

Change oil:

Drain the oil
    After drained, pour new oil in until the stuff draining looks like new oil(makes sure to get all your old oil out)
    Take off your old oil filter, take some new oil, put it on your finger, smear it around the rubber seal, screw it on, pour the oil in done.
    -Cody
    Music is like candy, you have to get rid of the rappers to enjoy it
  • Polkersince85
    Polkersince85 Posts: 2,883
    edited November 2006
    exalted512 wrote:
    pour the oil in done.

Don't forget to put the drain plug back in.:D
    >
    >
    >This message has been scanned by the NSA and found to be free of harmful intent.<
  • VR3
    edited November 2006
    Well, its all about process...

My grandpaw taught me with the idea of using an "oil can" that was a lubricator of sorts...

So I figured it was the course of action - simplicity... all the better...

Thanks
  • bobman1235