Eff Apple! One man's rant

Options
MacLeod
MacLeod Posts: 14,358
edited April 2 in Clubhouse Archives
Im sure Im the only person alive that didnt know all this, so feel free to poke fun at me for not paying attention. :mad:

I have been using Itunes for several months now and have been raving about how much I like it. Plenty of selections, very easy to use program, flawless burning. Yesterday I ran across their catch. You cant use it with ANYTHING else.

I bought a song off the Underworld soundtrack and the last 2 minutes of it are nothing but noises so I decided to use my Soundforge program to edit that part out like Ive done with a million songs. Well Soundforge wouldnt recognize it as its an MP4.

No problem I thought, Ill just search the net and find one of the millions of programs that convert mp4's to mp3's. Well there arent any because Apple makes their stupid mp4's bulletproof!

Not only that but I discovered that you cant use their mp4's on any player other than the Ipod which just happens to cost 3 times as much as the generic mp3 players out there.

You can burn the songs onto an audio cd and then rip them back to the computer as an mp3 but youve wasted a cd and you lose SQ which is limited anyway with mp3's.

What a crock!

Apple deserves to be 2nd place. Make very cool stuff but then make it only work on 5% of devices.

[/rant]
polkaudio sound quality competitor since 2005
MECA SQ Rookie of the Year 06 ~ MECA State Champ 06,07,08,11 ~ MECA World Finals 2nd place 06,07,08,09
08 Car Audio Nationals 1st ~ 07 N Georgia Nationals 1st ~ 06 Carl Casper Nationals 1st ~ USACi 05 Southeast AutumnFest 1st

polkaudio SR6500 --- polkaudio MM1040 x2 -- Pioneer P99 -- Rockford Fosgate P1000X5D
Post edited by RyanC_Masimo on

Comments

• heiney9
    heiney9 Posts: 25,097
    edited November 2006
    Options
    Yep, now you know the fine print. It's proprietary, they gotcha! Sorry you didn't know this, many others don't.

H9