New guy with a plan but needs help

titus2669
titus2669 Posts: 14
edited July 2006 in Car Audio & Electronics
Im new to sound systems so please help me out. I've been doing as much research as I can in the past days and Im trying to put together a new sound system for my 2000 firebird.
I want to first mention that I am not building this system to be the best system out there, it is mostly for show but I still want it to sound good when it will be turned on.

This is what I have planned out:
2 61/2 Polk Audio db650 speakers in the kicker panels by the feet
http://www.polkaudio.com/caraudio/products/mmc6500/

2 6 1/2 Polk Audio db650 speakers in the door panels (same speakers as above)
http://www.polkaudio.com/caraudio/products/mmc6500/

4 6x9 Polk Audio 690 in the flat rear seat delete I made
http://www.polkaudio.com/caraudio/products/mmc690/

2 12" Polk MMAudio 2124 in the q=logic box which goes into the t-top holders
http://www.polkaudio.com/caraudio/products/mm2124dvc/

1 Polk Mono AMP to power the two subs
http://www.polkaudio.com/caraudio/products/c500_1/

2 Polk 400.4 amps to power the speakers
http://www.polkaudio.com/caraudio/products/c400_4/

Would this setup work okay. Some people have said that the sound quality would be bad others said it would be fine.
I am also putting a computer in the rear of the car and I plan to run everything from that. So what kind of deck would I need that is able to connect to the computer sound card and will also be good enough for the rest of the sound system. If I am running all the music from the computer will the quality decrease then running it from the deck?

Also how many capacitors would I need to run this system. And do I need an extra battery?
Thanks I appreciate it a lot.
Post edited by titus2669 on

Comments

• exalted512
    exalted512 Posts: 10,735
    edited June 2006