Dodd ELP -vs- Dared SL2000

Options
ND13
ND13 Posts: 7,601
edited December 2005 in 2 Channel Audio
I'm posting this, because I promised a few that I would tell them what I thought of the two pres.

Ricardo(HTRookie) dropped off his Dared SL2000, on Friday 18th while on his way back home from picking up his SRSs, for me to compare it to my ELP. He picked it back up on Friday 25th, so I had a week to play with it.

The gear used:
Monitor 7As
ASL Wave 20s
Modded AMC CD8b(upgraded Burr DACS and Opamps, Vampire RCAs)
Outlaw ICs between the pre and amps and Signal Analog 1s from source to pre

I'm not an expert by any means and can only state what I heard. I don't use all the fancy terms, so here it goes.

My first impressions of the Dared weren't very positive, but I have to attribute it to the Mullards that were in it. I was quite disappointed with them to be quite honest. He also had a pair of nib Siemens. After letting them burn in for about 35-40 hours, they blossomed quite nicely.