Polk Rti 800's & Sony Receivers

philipsavory
philipsavory Posts: 2
edited April 2002 in Technical/Setup
This is my first time posting in this forum, but I have been using Polk speakers for a while. About six monts ago I purchased a set of Rti 800's, initially when I was testing these speakers I was blown away, but after I got them home I was a little disapointed. I am using a sony ES receiver to drive these speakers (V44ES). I have been playing with the setting for a couple of months and nothing really seems to make any difference. I am just wondering if anyone else is using a Sony ES receiver to drive there polks, and if so how do they find it. I am also open to any suggestions about a possible upgrade to my receiver.
Post edited by philipsavory on

Comments

• nascarmann
    nascarmann Posts: 1,464
    edited April 2002
    The talk around the forum is that Sony receivers and the Polk's don't match? I do not have first hand knowledge of this and can not give you a reason for this? I can only tell you I have read it many time on this forum. There are good receivers out there that you will be please with. The one thing I suggest, is to get a receiver with the 5 channel or better stereo. (Denon,Yamaha,Onkyo,ect.) :)
    Oh, the bottle has been to me, my closes friend, my worse enemy!
  • shack
    shack Posts: 11,154
    edited April 2002
    Before I got my new Denon I was running my rt55i speakers (The bookshelf version of the rt800i) on a 8 year old cheap Sony pro logic receiver. It was one that stated it had 100wpc in 2 channel stereo and 70-70-70-20-20 in 5 channel pro logic. It did not do a bad job of pushing the 55s in the stereo mode and this was before they were broken in. The Denon is better but the Sony sounded pretty good. I have a feeling though that low end Sony was better several years ago than it is now.
    "Just because you’re offended doesn’t mean you’re right." - Ricky Gervais