Amp for Kicker L7

dakotaboy
dakotaboy Posts: 47
edited May 2005 in Car Audio & Electronics
I am now searching for an amp for a 12" kicker L7 with Dual 4-ohm voice coils. I am looking for a cheap amp to power it. I was wondering what you all thought about Profile amps along with audiobahn's. I found a Profile mono 1000m, I was wondering if it would be compatible with the L7 Specifications: AP1000M = Peak Output Power (4 Ohms) is 650W x 1, RMS Output Power (4 Ohms) is 310W x 1, Peak Output Power (2 Ohms) is 1000W x 1 and RMS Output Power (2 Ohms) is 500W x 1...I am a true newbie still seeing as this will be my first amp and sub purchas and install. So please let me know what would work and how it would work. Thanks
Post edited by dakotaboy on

Comments

• MacLeod
    MacLeod Posts: 14,358
    edited May 2005
    First off, completley disregard peak power ratings. Whether its an amp or speaker. Theyre meaningless.

That amp would be ok for a 12" L7 but it would be a little on the weak side for it. Those things can take 750 watts all day long so 500 wouldnt be enough really.

As for which amp, there is no question you should get this MTX.

Itll make plenty of power to pound a L7 hard and since its on clearance you will not find an amp even close to comparable for $270!! That is a steal!
    polkaudio sound quality competitor since 2005
    MECA SQ Rookie of the Year 06 ~ MECA State Champ 06,07,08,11 ~ MECA World Finals 2nd place 06,07,08,09
    08 Car Audio Nationals 1st ~ 07 N Georgia Nationals 1st ~ 06 Carl Casper Nationals 1st ~ USACi 05 Southeast AutumnFest 1st

polkaudio SR6500 --- polkaudio MM1040 x2 -- Pioneer P99 -- Rockford Fosgate P1000X5D
  • dakotaboy
    edited May 2005
    Thankyou, what about the HiFonics Brutus amps though? Are they any good? I know understand ohm's and channels how they're set up now, so i'm set on that.
  • dakotaboy
    edited May 2005
    Also, what do you think of profile amps?
  • swerve
    swerve Posts: 1,862
    edited May 2005