confused noob wanting mm2104

Systems
Systems Posts: 14,873
edited March 2005 in Car Audio & Electronics
Hi I'm a huge noob and i've wanted subs for 2 years and i've finally had time and money to buy some... I just turned 16 and i wanted to buy subs for my 95 honda accord lx, yea its a ghetto car, but its what i can afford. I'm gonna go ahead and admit i know almost nothing about subs... My friend just told me 2 get these subs cause they own so very much. I had a couple of questions tho so here they r...

1. Should i get 10"s or 12"s?
2. How many subs should I get?
3. Do i necesarrily need new speakers also?
4. How important is it that the brand of the Amp matches with the brand of the subs?
5. Is it better to get a Carbon 500 with 1 channel, or would i rather want another amp with 250 watts with 2 channels, or are they basically the exact same?
6. What are some possible amps I should be looking at for my 1-2 subs if im lookin to spend around $300-500 on the amp's retailed price?
7. If money is an issue, is it worth getting a nice alpine head unit, or can i just stick with my ghetto mp3 head unit (im not sure which brand, i hafta look sometime)

I know its a lot, but could some1 please help me with as much as possible? thanks
Testing
Testing
Testing
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• MacLeod
    MacLeod Posts: 14,358
    edited March 2005
    Welcome to the Club.

1- 10's are more musical in my opinion and 12's can get a little louder as they can move more air. I would use 10's if theyre going to be in the car with you as in the back of a hatchback if you want sound quality or 12's for maximum boom. If youre putting them in the trunk then I would go with 12's for both SQ and SPL.