I need some head...

spackelman
spackelman Posts: 31
edited March 2005 in Car Audio & Electronics
I need some head unit advise.

Newbie here. Please don't laugh at me.

Not that much of a audiophile. Just want clean, crisp highs and some good bass.

Have a chevy 2002 crew cab. All stock sound, with a 1.5 din opening.

Want to install a new system. I prefer no amp and no subwoofer.

Head Unit I like is the pioneer premire 960 or pioneer 9600 or kenwood x979. I like the fold out panel.

Speakers front - polk components. speakers rear ??

I've been told to go with mb quart speakers. I like polks

Total system cost would like it to be kept under $900.

Would like to have a gm direct fit hu, but the choices are too limited.

I've seen a pic of one gm install - It showed 1.0 din hu, with a 0.5 din equalizer under the hu. Looked kinda cool and filled up the space.

I need all the advise I can get. Thanks in advance!
Post edited by spackelman on

Comments

• exalted512
    exalted512 Posts: 10,735
    edited March 2005
    youre willing to spend $900 but dont want an amp??
    thats kinda odd...
    any speakers that are going to be expensive ($100+) need to be amped...
    i can understand not wanting a sub but not wanting to amp speakers when youre willing to spend that much is kinda weird.
    the head unit with the equalizer under it was most likely custom.
    the premier 960 is a great head unit. look at electronicscity.com
    theyre the cheapest authorized dealers of pioneer i have found.
    -Cody
    Music is like candy, you have to get rid of the rappers to enjoy it
  • neomagus00
    neomagus00 Posts: 3,899
    edited March 2005
    polk will do very well for your requirements. since you don't want an amp, you'll want the db series.