jnt
jnt Posts: 4
edited November 2004 in Car Audio & Electronics
I just installed :

Alpine 9835 Head Unit
Polk mmc 6500 components
Polk mm 2104 woofer
(2) mtx 502 amps

on the alpine i personalize web site I have no idea on what or even how to set the crossover at. I am completely new to this and dont have a clue. The crossovers that came with my component set are already set up to limit certain frequencies to the tweeters and mids?
Post edited by jnt on

Comments

• exalted512
    exalted512 Posts: 10,735
    edited November 2004
    i would set your components at ~60Hz high pass and your subs at ~80Hz low pass
    -Cody
    Music is like candy, you have to get rid of the rappers to enjoy it
  • MacLeod
    MacLeod Posts: 14,358
    edited November 2004
    That sounds about right to me. I doubt thall be the best right off the bat but its a good starting point. From there you can fine tune it til you hit that sweet spot.

For my setup I have my sub crossed at 70 Hz and my fronts crossed at 50 Hz and it seems to work well.
    polkaudio sound quality competitor since 2005
    MECA SQ Rookie of the Year 06 ~ MECA State Champ 06,07,08,11 ~ MECA World Finals 2nd place 06,07,08,09
    08 Car Audio Nationals 1st ~ 07 N Georgia Nationals 1st ~ 06 Carl Casper Nationals 1st ~ USACi 05 Southeast AutumnFest 1st

polkaudio SR6500 --- polkaudio MM1040 x2 -- Pioneer P99 -- Rockford Fosgate P1000X5D
  • jnt
    edited November 2004
    thank you for the info! Couple more ?'s

how does adjusting the db number from 0 to -12 effect the sound of the woofer and the component set...and also the db/oct set to "off"....On the alpine site, when adjusting the crossover freq it doesnt mention anything about high pass or low pass. So I set my front speakers at 63 hz and my sub at 80 hz.
  • MacLeod
    MacLeod Posts: 14,358
    edited November 2004
    Db is a unit of measure and it depends on the application.