db series all around, but the timbre doesn't match

bokdaddy
bokdaddy Posts: 176
edited October 2004 in Car Audio & Electronics
Hey guys, I'm a newbie who asked some questions during the summer about head units and the db series, etc. But after having a Pioneer DEH-1600 and the db525's and db 690's for a few months I'm completely unsatisfied. The sound up front is completely different from the sound in the back. There is virtually no bass in the front two seats, but in the back it's boomy and mucks up the midrange. (oh, I'm driving a '99 Hyundai Elantra)

I've done my best to tinker with my head unit settings and get the best sound but it hasn't done anything. Is there something I can do? Dynamat maybe to bring the bass up front? I had been thinking about buying some damping sheets but wasn't sure if it would help as much as I would like. It's very strange how different even the highs sound from the front to the back of the car and I don't get what's going on. Any thoughts?
Home:
Denon AVR-1803
Polk CSi30
Polk RTi70
Polk RTi28
Polk PSW-303

Car:
Kenwood KDC-BT945U
RF Punch P400-4
Polk MM6501
Polk MM651
RF Punch P300-1
Boston Acoustics G312-4
Post edited by bokdaddy on

Comments

• neomagus00
    neomagus00 Posts: 3,899
    edited October 2004
    if no one said that you shouldn't be using rear speakers, that's totally our bad. cause that's the issue... you're using 5-1/4" in the front, and 6x9 in the back, and the 6x9 have way more bass, but the 5.25 are gonna be cleaner. i say turn the fader way up front, to the point that you're not really aware of the rear speakers; 5.25" speakers simply do not do bass, that's just a simple fact. if you don't have a sub, that's pretty much going to be a necessity :(.
    It's not good, very fundamentally simply not good. - geolemon

"Its not good enough until we have real-time fearmongering. I want my fear mongered as it happens." - Shizelbs
  • MacLeod
    MacLeod Posts: 14,358
    edited October 2004