HDTV questions

Options
Aaron
Aaron Posts: 1,853
edited February 28 in Clubhouse Archives
I had the parents out today looking at HDTV's. We were looking at tube TV's, because mother dearest will not stand for a big screen in her living room. The main seating position is 10' away from the set (currently an old 27" RCA). The popular size for the tube HD sets seems to be 34" which seems way too small since it's widescreen. Without doing the geometry, I bet that 4:3 material is about the same size on a widescreen 34" set as it is on a regular 27" set. We looked at the following HDTV's: Philips 34PW9817 ($3000), Sony KD-34XBR2 ($4000), and the RCA F38310 ($2500). From what I saw (and I'm no expert on this stuff), the Sony looked the best, then the Philips, and then the RCA. I guess that makes sense when looking at the costs. I know that Panasonic and Toshiba also make 34" HD sets. Has anyone had any experience with any of the mentioned sets?

According to the CC rep, the Sony has an HD decoder, but it only works with on-air broadcasts which I assume means antenna reception. He went on to say that to get HD through the satellite you would still need an external decoder. The Philips doesn't have an HD decoder. The RCA is a 38" tube which looks freakin' huge compared to the others. It's not a flat screen like the Philips and Sony tubes, unfortunately. To its credit it has an HD decoder and a DirecTV satellite receiver with DD optical out built in. I've been doing a little shopping online and the RCA set had be had mad cheaply. For this reason, the built in HD decoder and satellite receiver, and the 38" tube size it seems like a no-brainer decision. I'm not saying the TV is perfect by any means, but for the money I don't think it can be beat. I suppose I will research a bit more, but I'm interested to hear others' comments.

Aaron
Post edited by RyanC_Masimo on

Comments

• Aaron
    edited February 2002
    Options