Amplifying Speakers

Systems
Systems Posts: 14,873
edited September 2004 in Car Audio & Electronics
Just got my GNX104. Im kinda strapped for cash though (got the GNX from Frys for $25) since im a full time college student, so needless to say ive got only $400 (or P20,000 PhP) to spend on my entire upgrade for my Mazda.

Most of the people I know did only two things: either get one powerful mono amp then get a pretty good 4-channel, or get a 4/3/2 Alpine V12, bridged two for the sub then powered the front door speakers.

I can't go for the first, since I don't want to buy a new alternator or risk problems with the stock unit, but with the second set up, if im gonna change the front (180w/80w rms) and rear (300w/100w) speakers, wouldn't the rears be underpowered?

My amp will be a Blaupunkt PCA 450 (around $150 here in the Philippines), with 100w x 2 + 200w x 1 in 3 ch mode, if i power the rear speakers to get the most our of them, will i still get better sound quality in general as well as at elevated volume levels than stock, if i replace the stock Sonys (80w/30w rms) with Infinitys (180w/80w rms) at the front wthout amplifying them?

Im not replacing my head unit since it has changer controls, but if this info helps, its out put is 40w x 4 (i think thats the peak output).

Thanks in advance.
Testing
Testing
Testing
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• MacLeod
    MacLeod Posts: 14,358
    edited September 2004
    The head unit is a poor source of power. Very little of it and its dirty.

Rear speakers are for passengers and the best sound quality will ALWAYS be achieved with front speakers only.

You wouldnt need another alternator unless you went with 1000x1 amp or something. A moderate size amp will not be too much of a drag on your stock charging system.