Which way

Options
peekobi
peekobi Posts: 58
edited February 28 in Clubhouse Archives
I'm new to all this home audio stuff (addicted too!) but currently I have (2) 12 year old Sony loudspeakers up front. (SS-U901AV's) They are big floors with 2 woofers in each each speaker. I have a 60W Yahama sub-woofer and a 27" Mitsubishi TV.

In the last 3 months I have purchased a Kenwood VR-509 Receiver, a Kenwood DV-505 DVD/CD player a Polk CS245i, and (2) Polk RT25i's. Love em!

Here's the question: Do I just buy the RT600i's for around $400 and live happily ever after, or do I go back to CC and upgrade to the CS400i and then buy theRT800i's for around $740? I'm married with 3 boys and we love watching the DVD's but the wife isn't as big a fan if you know what I mean. With the lesser system, is that all we really need, or will I wish I did the upgrade 6 months from now???
Thanks for the help. You guys are the greatest even though most of the dialog is way beyond me.
Reciever Onkyo TX-SR708

Center - polkaudio CS245I
Mains -- polkaudio RT600I's
Sides -- polkaudio RT35's
Rears -- polkaudio RT25I's
Sub ---- polkaudio PSW-350

TV: Panasonic TC-P50GT30 HDTV
Blu-Ray Player Panasonic DMP-BDT215

Common sense ain't that common!:loneranger:
Post edited by RyanC_Masimo on

Comments

• RuSsMaN
    RuSsMaN Posts: 17,987
    edited February 2002
    Options
    Problem is, even if you got the 800's, if you truely have 'the bug', the rest of your life is going to be filled with upgrades......

Cheers,
    Russ

Ps, if you are just about to pop your wifes 'audio cherry', get those 3 boys out of the house for a night, light some candles, open some wine, and put some of her favorite slow music on....and waltz her around the room.....

Works like a charm I tell ya, many success stories.....
    Check your lips at the door woman. Shake your hips like battleships. Yeah, all the white girls trip when I sing at Sunday service.
  • trubluluc
    trubluluc Posts: 2,067
    edited February 2002