New Wood Rack Possibilities

Options
GlennDog
GlennDog Posts: 3,105
edited May 25 in DIY, Mods & Tweaks
My existing rack is abysmal . . . I'm thinking hefty wood shelveing rack would be waaaay better (than thick glass).

This local guy seems to have reasonable prices

I've never done this type of carpentry before . . . some pieces look very cool. Anybody got helpful suggestions??

https://detroit.craigslist.org/mcb/grd/d/utica-lumber-slabs-cherry-maple-elm/7750517070.html

Initially, my thought was somewhat symmetrical shelves, at least 2 inches think with threaded rod connecting 4-5 shelves, approx 5 feet long

I like the idea of combining modern electronic with the rustic look
AC Regenerator PS Audio PerfectWave Power Plant 10
Source Lumin U1 Mini into Lampizator Baltic 4 DAC
Pre Cary SLP-05
Power Rogue M180 Dark monos
Mains Salk HT2-TL
Rythmik F12

Comments

• pitdogg2
    pitdogg2 Posts: 24,758
    Options
  • nooshinjohn
    nooshinjohn Posts: 25,208
    Options
    I prefer natural racks over any other material.
    The Gear... Carver "Statement" Mono-blocks, Mcintosh C2300 Arcam AVR20, Oppo UDP-203 4K Blu-ray player, Sony XBR70x850B 4k, Polk Audio Legend L800 with height modules, L400 Center Channel Polk audio AB800 "in-wall" surrounds. Marantz MM7025 stereo amp. Simaudio Moon 680d DSD

“When once a Republic is corrupted, there is no possibility of remedying any of the growing evils but by removing the corruption and restoring its lost principles; every other correction is either useless or a new evil.”— Thomas Jefferson
  • Upstatemax
    Upstatemax Posts: 2,629
    Options
    GlennDog wrote: »
    My existing rack is abysmal . . . I'm thinking hefty wood shelveing rack would be waaaay better (than thick glass).

This local guy seems to have reasonable prices

I've never done this type of carpentry before . . . some pieces look very cool. Anybody got helpful suggestions??