Need guidance on my SDA SRS 1.2s

Hello all,
I have been trolling this site for a long time and I'm ready to jump in. As a teenager I saw the SDA SRS 1.2 speakers in a mag and knew one day I would have to have them. Fast forward almost 40 years I have been sitting on a pair for the last 4 years. I thought I would have a new house built by now to enjoy them but it hasn't happend yet. I don't want to wait any longer and am using my sons old room for these speakers. Mind you I consider myself new to the adiophile world but I'm not a total noob....
I have read hours and hours of posts and have a great idea on what I need to do in order to mod/upgrade these speakers. I am afraid of electronics so I will have someone take care of the boards/wires but everthing else I can do including restoring the exterior wood finish. My main question for now is what am to use for power? I am still confused on this and I know there isn't one difinitive answer. I would like my best options on current linear amps/power amps along with vintage amps. I have a huge record collection that I would like to spend the rest of my life listening to. I'm willing to spend around 5k if need be but of course saving $ is always great. A local store recommended the luxman L-505uXII. My concern is does this have enough power and is it common ground? Almost all of the posts say to get at least 200 watts per channel but I also understand more power doesn't always mean better. Any advice will be greatly appreciated and I have more questions but one at a time seems fair.

Answers

• pitdogg2
    pitdogg2 Posts: 25,210
    Luxman makes good stuff and that may do it, buuuut I'm like you, I'd want more.
    Your budget could a damn nice Parasound amp and many other amps that could almost double the power into 4 ohms.
  • F1nut
    F1nut Posts: 50,281
    Almost all of the posts say to get at least 200 watts per channel
    They do? Other than the mantra of one that's news to me.