Arcam AVR20 vs. Denon AVC-a110 Anniversary...

Options
As the title suggests, I am comparing these two for two channel performance. I love my Arcam and the way it performs for two channel audio, but reliability issues have plagued my experience with the brand. Sonically, it has worked very well with my L800/Carver amp setup and has not disappointed in the least. But that reliability thing... I have had 4 of them, with the current one only being a week old, but it throws gibberish on the screen when it starts up from being turned off. If I turn it off then back on, everything is good. I think it has much to do with the pass-through to my TV and my not be the Arcam at all, but to say I am gun-shy is a pretty fair statement.

I have an opportunity to grab a Denon AVC-a110 for a very fair price and not much more than I have in the Arcam. Best Buy is going to pretty much make it an even swap. I have little experience with the Denon sound, and the reviews I have seen for this piece seem to hold it in pretty high regard. I am hoping some of you here might have some advice for me regarding the sound of the Denon in comparison to the Arcam. I will need to pull the trigger on it later tonight or tomorrow.
The Gear... Carver "Statement" Mono-blocks, Mcintosh C2300 Arcam AVR20, Oppo UDP-203 4K Blu-ray player, Sony XBR70x850B 4k, Polk Audio Legend L800 with height modules, L400 Center Channel Polk audio AB800 "in-wall" surrounds. Marantz MM7025 stereo amp. Simaudio Moon 680d DSD

“When once a Republic is corrupted, there is no possibility of remedying any of the growing evils but by removing the corruption and restoring its lost principles; every other correction is either useless or a new evil.”— Thomas Jefferson

Comments

• Clipdat
    Clipdat Posts: 12,608
    Options
    Yes, go for it.
  • treitz3
    treitz3 Posts: 18,340
    Options