Looking for an advice on amplifier for SDA 2B.

Options
alexanikin
alexanikin Posts: 105
edited November 2022 in Vintage Speakers
Guys, could you give me some advice, please, on which power amplifier to pick for my SDA 2b?

Currently, I use Denon PMA-880R. It's great, but not enough at all. I have experience with different integrates and almost got Denon PMA-2000R this week, but it fell through.

I spent quite some time during the last couple of years reading this forum, so I have some names in my mind, like Rotel RB-1070, 1080, or Adcom GFA-555. But honestly, I have no experience with pure power amps and can't actually evaluate them. That's why this post.

Budget: $1000 total (incl tax, shipping, and soda)

For the amp, I would want to go for solid-state Class A or probably A/B. Not tubes, not integrated. Just a pure high-current power amp. Don't know how much power is enough for 2b's.

My stack:
Speakers: Polk Audio 2B + RD0194 + new x-overs (on the way)
Source #1: streamer Wiim Mini Airplay 2 -> AudioQuest Forest Toslink -> DAC
Source #2: Mac Mini -> AudioQuest Jitterbug -> noname aliexpress USB cable -> DAC
DAC: Schiit Modi 3E -> AudioQuest EverGreen RCA -> PreAmp
PreAmp: Schiit Saga+ (tube version) -> AudioQuest EverGreen RCA -> Amp
Amp: Denon PMA-880R (pure direct mode) – to change
Power: AudioQuest PowerQuest 2

Handmade cables. Happy to share details of the process of making it if it is interesting.
1) Interconnect cable
One wire (14 AWG OFC) going inside PTFE tube (1mm thick) and Techflex Flexo Noise Reduction braided sleeving
2) Speaker cables
9awg, braided 24 strands (wire is an aliexpress copy of Kimber Kable ), PTFE tube introduced inside to separate strands, PTFE tape as outside coating and Techflex Flexo Noise Reduction braided sleeving
3) The amp power cable
14 AWG. I made it for the previous setup (Monitor 7 and RTA 12 + Peachtree audio iDecco) along with other speaker cables based on a braided 16-strand wire.

Appreciate your input and thoughts.