New to the FORUMS

knight007
knight007 Posts: 18
edited June 2004 in Car Audio & Electronics
Hi all I am a newbie to Polk Audio forums. I just purchased the DB650 and DB6500. It's not installed yet because I am waiting for my amps to come in. However, the demo that was done using these speakers made it clear that I HAD to have them. Any do's and don'ts about these?
Post edited by knight007 on

Comments

• MacLeod
    MacLeod Posts: 14,358
    edited June 2004
    The DB are excellent speakers and youll be quite happy with them. They arent as good as the Momos in my opinion but are very good nonetheless.

If you havent picked out your amps yet I would recommend something in the 75 watt per channel range. The components are rated at 100 watts but the coaxials are only 60. 75 will be a good mix between the two. Not to little so as to not get all the comps potential but not too much as to burn up the coax. Plus you should be running the rear with a lower gain setting anyway so as not to pull your soundstage too far to the rear.

Now all youll need is a sub. I prefer sound quality over sheer decibels so I would go with a single 10 or 12. For power, a good rule of thumb is to go at least with the total power you will have to your speakers, in this case 300. An even better rule is to go with double that which would be 600. Compromising again I would go with the MM104 and find an amp that runs around 450 to 500 rms. I wouldnt go much more than that as Polk Audio speakers seem to not like overpowering very much and tend to fry.
    polkaudio sound quality competitor since 2005
    MECA SQ Rookie of the Year 06 ~ MECA State Champ 06,07,08,11 ~ MECA World Finals 2nd place 06,07,08,09
    08 Car Audio Nationals 1st ~ 07 N Georgia Nationals 1st ~ 06 Carl Casper Nationals 1st ~ USACi 05 Southeast AutumnFest 1st

polkaudio SR6500 --- polkaudio MM1040 x2 -- Pioneer P99 -- Rockford Fosgate P1000X5D
  • exalted512
    exalted512 Posts: 10,735
    edited June 2004