Amp for Polk RTi A9

Options
Lacrymosa
Lacrymosa Posts: 43
edited February 2022 in 2 Channel Audio
I know this question has been asked so many times before but I’m trying to narrow down what exactly I need as while I consider myself an audiophile I am new to building my own dedicated system. I have had the RTi A9s for some years just playing underpowered.

I’m looking at getting the Parasound 2125v2, rated at 150 watts per channel which I can get get for $1000 (Canadian) locally, which is my sweet spot right now.

However I know the 2250 would be a better fit at 275 watts per channel. And perhaps I should wait and grab that at some point.

Either way I guess I have two questions, is the 2125v2 a good amp to pair with these speakers?

And second, I mostly use my setup for playing vinyl but I also use Bluetooth so would I be able to purchase a Bluetooth receiver and use it with either of these parasound amps? I’m considering the Audioengine B1 Bluetooth Music Receiver with 24Bit DAC.

I’d also like to eventually be able to add a CD player to the setup one day. Do these amps support adding additional sources like CD, Bluetooth and Phono? I have only used receivers in the past.

Any and all help is appreciated to help get better clarity from these beasts!
Post edited by Lacrymosa on

Answers

• F1nut
    F1nut Posts: 49,802
    Options
    You will need a pre-amp to control the amplifier as well as control the sources.
    Political Correctness'.........defined

"A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a t-u-r-d by the clean end."

President of Club Polk

• Lacrymosa
    edited February 2022
    Options
    F1nut wrote: »
    You will need a pre-amp to control the amplifier as well as control the sources.