Any wood burners here?

Options
I put an insert in my fire place and I’ve been burning a lot more wood the past couple of winters. Just curious if this might have a negative impact on my gear. It not that my gear is too close, I’m just wondering if the ash/dust might be affecting its useful life.

Thoughts?
HT- Samsung PN50B860/Integra DTR 30.3/Rt55 Fronts
Rt35i Surrounds/Cs1000p Center/SVS BP1000 Sub
2CH - B&K MC-101 pre/B&K EX-442 amp/NAD 2400 amp
Polk SDA1C, Polk Monitor 7, New Large Advents and Polk RTA 8T
BR - Yamaha CR800/Polk monitor 5

Comments

• audioluvr
    audioluvr Posts: 5,434
    Options
    I've been burning wood for 30+ years in my place but I have a high efficiency wod stove with outside air draft
    Gustard X26 Pro DAC
    Belles 21A Pre modded with Mundorf Supreme caps
    B&K M200 Sonata monoblocks refreshed and upgraded
    Polk SDA 1C's modded / 1000Va Dreadnaught
    Wireworld Silver Eclipse IC's and speaker cables
    Harman Kardon T65C w/Grado Gold. (Don't laugh. It sounds great!)

There is about a 5% genetic difference between apes and men …but that difference is the difference between throwing your own poo when you are annoyed …and Einstein, Shakespeare and Miss January. by Dr. Sardonicus
  • tonyb
    tonyb Posts: 32,906
    edited December 2021
    Options
    I put an insert in my fire place and I’ve been burning a lot more wood the past couple of winters. Just curious if this might have a negative impact on my gear. It not that my gear is too close, I’m just wondering if the ash/dust might be affecting its useful life.

Thoughts?

Yes, it will, especially if you have a blower in the fireplace to blow heat out. It also blows ash, small enough so you can't see it, but it accumulates inside gear. Ruined a Sony TV for me and it was 20ft away on the opposite side of the room. I was shocked at the amount of ash inside when the repair guy opened it up.