Help with Monitor 12s passive radiators

Options
j07ceyp5v00g.jpg

Hi all, new to the forum but not to Polk Audio.

Have had my M12s which I bought new in the early 90s. The reason I'm writing is because my 4 year old son destroyed the 12" PR a while back and I had to replace them. However, I couldn't find the originals anywhere at the time and replaced them with a mint set of flat and not coned 12" Polk Audio passive radiators from similar speakers of the time. See pics attached.

Let me cut to the chase with my questions because I am by no means an expert:

1) Have I compromised the sound? If so, how and why?
2) Do Polk sell vintage parts?

thanks!

Comments

• SeleniumFalcon
    SeleniumFalcon Posts: 3,508
    Options
    Hello, welcome to the Polk forum. Nice clean setup and good photo. Any changes would be in the bass performance of the speakers. Are you able to make any frequency response measurements?
    I don't believe Polk has any of the older radiators still available.
  • Gardenstater
    Gardenstater Posts: 4,186
    Options
    Photo of the original equip. radiator vs the replacement from behind would be interesting. I am told they tuned them by adding different amounts of weight to the spider/cone assembly.
    George / NJ

Polk 7B main speakers, std. mods+ (1979, orig owner)
    Martin Logan Dynamo sub w/6ft 14awg Power Cord
    Crown D150 amp
    Logitech Squeezebox Touch Streamer w/EDO applet
    iFi nano iDSD DAC
    iPurifier3
    iDefender w/ iPower PS
    Custom Steve Wilson 1m UPOCC Interconnect
    iFi Mercury 0.5m OFHC continuous cast copper USB cable
    Custom Ribbon Speaker Cables, 5ft long, 4N Copper, 14awg, ultra low inductance
    Custom Vibration Isolation Speaker Stands and Sub Platform
  • Zosimo
    Zosimo Posts: 13
    Options
    Photo of the original equip. radiator vs the replacement from behind would be interesting. I am told they tuned them by adding different amounts of weight to the spider/cone assembly.