Another SRS 3.1TL Rebuild

Options
Hey everyone!!

I recently came into a pair of Polk SRS 3.1TL towers recently and I am starting the long process of refurbishing them. I've already done some work to these and am just now getting around to documenting it. I'll report previous progress in the next few posts as to not have one giant post.

I am new to Hi-Fi audio and am willing to drown in all the small details. With that said if anyone has any advice or if I'm doing something incorrectly please chime in. I've read through a bunch of build logs and threads on the forum for awhile and have learned a TON from you guys.

Let's get at it.

Here they are! As you can see 14 year old me 12 years ago was a little a**hole and replaced a blown SL3000 with a "custom" driver. Ughh. I'm sorry.
vyk4w3scxsok.jpg
I tested each driver and found 1 bad MW6511 dimensional driver, 1 MW6503 and another bad SL3000. I was able to order replacement tweeters directly from Polk and I was able to find pairs of both mid drivers on eBay. From my understanding Midwest is still working on a 6503 replacement but not the 6511. My belief is that the 6511 is going to be more difficult to find as time goes on. It's probably not popular or used enough for Midwest to spend the money to produce it. Sad. Makes me nervous for the longevity of these speakers.

Here is one tower with the replacement tweeter. The upgraded model from Polk sounds great. I need to shim up the screw shroud because for some reason the shroud is recessed further than the lip of the component. I'd hate to over-tighten them and crack the face of the surround. Probably just going to glue washers to them like @verb recommended in a previous build log.
op2j6dh9fpq9.jpg

Comments

• Schurkey
    Schurkey Posts: 2,100
    Options
    mackdrool wrote: »
    I recently came into a pair of Polk SRS 3.1TL towers recently... ...As you can see 14 year old me 12 years ago was a little a**hole and replaced a blown SL3000 with a "custom" driver.