Another NS Designs in Verb's House!

verb
verb Posts: 10,176
edited April 2019 in 2 Channel Audio
Well, I'm fairly new to the DAC thing to be honest. A while ago I took the plunge and got a demo unit from @DSkip - the Intenso. This was the first sperate DAC I've really ever owned.

At the time, when paired with the EAD transport, I was blown away. Ever since, been running that combo in my main rig downstairs. I've played with the power cord, and digital coax, and noticed incremental, but subtle improvements. Needless to say, I've been very happy with that combo.

I compared the combo with the Marantz CD6006, and recently a Rotel RCD-1072, Oppo BDP-95, and others, both as stand alone players, and as transports.

The EAD and Intenso is still my favorite. Until tonight!

Just got a NS Excelsio from our fellow Polkie @jumpindick (gotta love the name) today and hooked it up tonight. Everything else was the same, just swapped out the Intenso for the Exclesio. Running a Silnote Morpheus digital coax cable and Pangea AC14 power cord.

The Excelsio is a very impressive piece of gear, when compared to it's little brother, which is no slouch by any means.
tbuhpht4jfvn.jpg

My main rig:
5qdfldfql21v.jpg

So tonight I had a chance to spin a few discs, and all I can say is OMG! Wow! For a novice like me, the audible differences were amazing!

I'll have more to share, but wanted to get it out there that this piece of gear is truly a game changer!

And a special shout out to Dhavel @jumpindick for allowing me to take his baby into a new home!

This is truly a great hobby! :smile:
Basement: Polk SDA SRS 1.2tl's, Cary SLP-05 Pre with ultimate upgrade,McIntosh MCD301 CD/SACD player, Northstar Designs Excelsio DAC, Cambridge 851N streamer, McIntosh MC300 Amp, Silnote Morpheus Ref2, Series2 Digital Cables, Silnote Morpheus Ref2 Series2 XLR's, Furman 15PFi Power Conditioner, Pangea Power Cables, MIT Shotgun S3 IC's, MIT Shotgun S1 Bi-Wire speaker cables