Trouble with SDA2 Interconnect cable sockets and a rookie mistake.

I have a pair of early version SDA2’s. Over the years these particular speakers have been move round quite a bit. They have been problematic and seem to be getting more problematic. Case-in-point: the “Dimensional Array” completely dropped-out in both channels. This model has a dimensional tweeter (SL-1000) and woofer (MW5601).

My first suspect was the interconnect cable sockets and sure enough they were loose and in the case of the left channel the plastic was broken. Sometimes jostling the plug would make a connection but it did not maintain contact. So, being an amateur, I decided to hard wire the connection (if for no other reason than to confirm that the connections were the culprit and if I could get the “Dimensional Array” to work, I could certainly go back later and install speak-On NL2 connectors. Sure enough, by making the hard wire connections, all the “Dimensional” driver’s came back on-line.

The rookie mistake: I started with the left channel and wired white-to-white/black-to-black. Then I moved to the right channel and cut the interconnector and got those wire ends ready. When I took out the radiator: low-and-behold there were white and blue wires. What was I supposed to do? So I searched here for the schematic; and I found it; but I can’t read schematics! So, I wired what was the large connector (white) to the blue wire (which looks like a ground on the X-over to me) and the black-to-white. That seemed counterintuitive. But the “Dimensional Array” is supposed to be “out-of-phase” [Polk, M., Polk’s SDA Speakers – Designed in Stereo, Audio, June 1984, pp32-41, at p. 38, 40]. I got sound.

Query: did I connect the “Dimensional Array” correctly?
Your advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks, Lou
Marantz PM8004
Marantz SA8004
Marantz NA 6004
Polk SDA 2
Polk SDA 2A
Kef C95

Comments

• pitdogg2
    pitdogg2 Posts: 24,549
    The woofer should be mw6501.