Any Advice

howie777
howie777 Posts: 357
edited May 2004 in Car Audio & Electronics
Well I'm pretty new to car audio but have been into the home stuff for 7-8 years now. So I thought I'd see what everyone else thinks of my new system and any advice you can give me for when I do the install.

I have a 1998 Grand Prix. I installed DB525 up front and DB690 in the rear deck. I then installed an Alpine 9831 and ran new 16 ga wire to all speakers. This is where I was going to stop...

Then I noticed some reverb on the DB690 so I went to circuit city to get some of the silencer they sell. I ended up with 24 sq ft for $60 due to new packaging coming out it was all 1/2 off. Then I stared talking subs with the salesmen. I saw the MM12s there and asked what he recommeded I use for an amp if I get one MM12 ( I knew sound domain had them for $179 each). He said the C300.2 was great for that sub as it is 550W bridged and it was on sale for $269 (says regular $299 but every other authorized dealer has them for $399). So I picked up 2 (last two in about 5-6 stores they checked) and ordered 2 MM12s from sound domain. So everything I bought was 1/2 today! So I think I did pretty well. But I have never installed the silencer, amps, or subs before so hopefully that will go over well. Speakers and decks were very easy but mounting the subs/amps worries me. I'm not sure how best to install them but I really want to do the work myself as it is the best part IMO.

So what do you all think? Did I do ok? I still need everything to wire up the amps/subs but I will probably just buy what circuit city has unless you people have better options for me. I think the amp kit was $100 he recommened. 4 guage from battery to a distro block and 8 guage to each amp. plus a fuses and distro block. And some 12 guage for the subs should be fine.