Question about powering 5Jr+'s

Options
Hi, I am kind of a newb, and not very technical in terms of science and math (that is why I am just a dumb lawyer. ;-) ). But anyway, I have acquired an Onkyo TX-822 which is rated at 50w per side, but says the speakers should be 8 ohm minimum in the literature that came with the receiver. As I understand it, the 5jr+ is rated at 6 ohm. Can this receiver drive them nicely in a relatively small space? (12x20 room?)

Comments

• sunvalleylaw
    Options
    Here is where I am getting the info on the speakers. https://polksda.com/pdfs/MonitorReference2.pdf
  • F1nut
    F1nut Posts: 49,795
    Options
    You should be fine as long as you're not trying for rock concert volume levels.
    Political Correctness'.........defined

"A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a t-u-r-d by the clean end."

President of Club Polk

• Jimbo18
    Jimbo18 Posts: 2,314
    Options
    I am using a 55wpc HK receiver with mine and it drives them just fine.
  • sunvalleylaw
    Options
    Thanks. @F1nut No, would not be rock concert volumes in this small office. Might crank it up just a little after work if no one is around, but in that small space, I would guess I would not have the dial up all that high.

Also, I need to make sure I am using these numbers correctly. In the light of morning, I am seeing that all the Polk speakers at that time were rated at 6 ohms "nominal impedance." I found an Onkyo instructional manual at HiFi Engine that lists musical power output at 2 x 95 w at 4 ohms, 2 x 68 watts at 8 ohms, and continuous power output at 2 x 50 at 4 ohms and 2 x 45 at 8 ohms.

Am looking for a "Impedance for Dummies" or something sort of article or youtube video to help me understand how it works, for my edification and knowledge as I dive back into this stuff.
  • FestYboy