Speaker Wire - Help

Options
Hey guys,

I'm running some Atrium 5's (or 6's) to my backyard from my family room. The runs will be approximately 50' to 100' in distance I would guess from the Amp (HEOS) the speakers. I will have a few speakers inside also and the distance from the amp to those speakers will be much less, probably less than 20 feet.

My question, which speaker wire should I be using. Full disclosure, I've never done this before, I know nothing about speakers or wiring. I've seen some aluminum wiring coated in copper, I've seen all copper, 4-conductor, 2 conductor, all different guages. Cost doesn't matter so much to me as quality.

Keep in mind, these wires going outside will be exposed to the elements slightly, when connecting in to the speakers. I live in a place with cold winters, lots of snow, and very close to salt water, so the wire needs to be outdoor rated somehow?

So if you could advise as to the:
Gauge (12, 14, 16)
2-conductor vs. 4 conductor
Some rating for outdoor use
A trusted brand perhaps

This would help tremendously!

Thank in advance!
Kyle

Comments

• pitdogg2
    pitdogg2 Posts: 24,559
    Options
    Belden 5000UE (Gray jacket, 12 AWG) 0.64/ft

bluejeanscable.com
  • Willow
    Willow Posts: 10,871
    Options
    I bought some outdoor cable off Amazon. Made to be buried. Seems to work well. The only issue I have is the cable and speaker next to pool is oxidizing very rapidly. I cut back 2 ft and it was wet in the sleeve. This year I said f- IT I'll replace it next year. I wouldn't go and spend hundreds on your outdoor cables. When I replace mine I'll check out pitdogg2's suggestion.
  • pitdogg2
    pitdogg2 Posts: 24,559
    Options
    May i suggest adhesive lined shrink tubing on the ends next time. Shrink the wire about 8" and the banana plug down to the insertion point. NOT the part that goes into binding post of course right up to it though
  • dromunds
    dromunds Posts: 9,981
    Options