Learning to listen to SDA

I have been a music fan all of my life. Up until recently, that has meant listening to two point sources screaming in a room or a sub and satellite system where all output is split and garbled back together. Then I bought my first decent set of electronics and a pair of SDA-1A. What a difference. Enveloping sound, clarity and detail. I soon decided that a pair of SDA-SRS were needed. I was right. I am still learning how to listen to music. Instead of hearing two speakers, I now hear a "sound stage". Eyes closed or dark room works best for me. My eyes show me two speakers, but my ears hear a wide field of sound and it can be hard to reconcile the difference mentally. Remove the visual and it is easy to resolve the presentation. I generally locate the drum kit and lead singer first. They are typically at center stage. From there it is easier for me to locate the rest of the instruments/performers. Having owned my system for a while and critically listening more, I have learned to hear the depth of a performance. What I once perceived as sound coming from 90 degrees from the side has now become a definition of the front of the performance as well as the edge. My most enlightening recording has been Pink Floyd's Wish You Were Here. The snare drum is located in the exact same spot throughout the recording and allows me to build the rest of the stage from there. There are moving guitarists (wish you were here- acoustic guitar moves from in front of the drums to right front stage about mid way through) and harmony singers that form a line across the stage (shine on you crazy diamond). Plus it's a great album. In more time with these monsters, I think that my listening skills will improve more. I have gone from Hearing to listening (big difference). What a ride. I wish I knew this 30 years ago.
Schiit Freya+, Krell KAV-250a, R-Pi network streamer, 8Tb NAS, Thorens TD-145 MKIII with Ortofon 2M red, Polk: Monitor-10B, SDA-1A, SDA-SRS

Comments