Need a new, and better, router

Ron-P
Ron-P Posts: 8,516
I've got Verizon Fios. I'm using their brand (Actiontec) router. It's single strength is horrible and it will not support extenders.

Looking for a router with better strength, easy setup (for a non-computer kinda guy) and inexpensive. Any tips or suggestions?
If...
Ron dislikes a film = go out and buy it.
Ron loves a film = don't even rent.

Comments

• Jimbo18
    Jimbo18 Posts: 2,309
    Here's some suggestions from CNET.

http://www.cnet.com/topics/networking/best-networking-devices/

I have a Belkin AC 1200DB which was about $100 and has dual band signals. I would only rate it about 3 out of 5 though. It's pretty good for the money, but there are probably better options for not much more.
  • Moose68Bash
    Moose68Bash Posts: 3,842
    I've been using a Linksys WRT1900AC for several months now, and I've been very pleased with its performance in every way. I have one extender and use it to stream music from my server to various devices in the house. It was easy to set up.
    Family Room, Innuos Statement streamer (Roon Core) with Morrow Audio USB cable to McIntosh MC 2700 pre with DC2 Digital Audio Module; AQ Sky XLRs to CAT 600.2 dualmono amp, Morrow Elite Speaker Cables to NOLA Baby Grand Reference Gold 3 speakers. Power source for all components: Silver Circle Audio Pure Power One with dedicated 20 amp circuit to main panel.

Exercise Room, Innuos Streamer via Cat 6 cable connection to PS Audio PerfectWave MkII DAC w/Bridge II, AQ King Cobra RCAs to Perreaux PMF3150 amp (fully restored and upgraded by Jeffrey Jackson, Precision Audio Labs), Supra Rondo 4x2.5 Speaker Cables to SDA 1Cs (Vr3 Mods Xovers and other mods.), Dreadnaught with Supra Rondo 4x2.5 interconnect cables by Vr3 Mods. Power for each component from dedicated 20 amp circuit to main panel, except Innuos Statement powered from Silver Circle Audio Pure Power One.

• rooftop59
    rooftop59 Posts: 7,952