Chance to be a record store manager

Options
Fongolio
Fongolio Posts: 3,516
edited August 2014 in The Clubhouse
Some of you may remember a few years back I changed careers from flooring installer to Armored Car Guard. I've been working in that industry for 3 years and although it pays the bills it's not a great job.

A friend of mine in town who owns a used vinyl and vintage gear and guitar shop had a deal to sell the shop. My friend has a second shop about 300 miles from the one near me. He was going to move there and had already sold his house and moved almost all his belongings when the deal for the sale of this shop fell through at the last minute.

He has asked me if I'd consider managing the shop for him and he'd be an absent owner. I'd make less money initially but he'd allow me to set up a bench in the record store and do minor electronics repair as a side business (which I already do) to make up the difference in pay.

This is my dream job. I already own a ton of gear and about 3000 records. Music is my passion and I can't think of a job where I might be happier. I already hang out there a lot and know most of the regular customers by name. Lastly there is a chance if I could put the funds together of out right buying the store.

Am I crazy not to take this?
SDA-1C (full mods)
Carver TFM-55
NAD 1130 Pre-amp
Rega Planar 3 TT/Shelter 501 MkII
The Clamp
Revox A77 Mk IV Dolby reel to reel
Thorens TD160/Mission 774 arm/Stanton 881S Shibata
Nakamichi CR7 Cassette Deck
Rotel RCD-855 with modified tube output stage
Cambridge Audio DACmagic Plus
ADC Soundshaper 3 EQ
Ben's IC's
Nitty Gritty 1.5FI RCM
Post edited by Fongolio on

Comments

• Sea
    Sea Posts: 317
    edited July 2014
    Options
    Follow your dream especially if you can make close to the same by doing the repair work.
    Main-Carver TFM35(2),Carver C11 ,Carver SD/A 360 CD,Carver TX11 ,Grace Digital Tuner, Pioneer PL707 TT,Polk SDA1C