Hooking up my new gear

Options
Rookie
Rookie Posts: 20
I'm setting up my new system! Yamaha RX-V1400, Yamaha DVD-C740 soon to be all connected to the RM7600 Polk Audio speaker 5.1 set, the sub is the psw650 model. The TV is a Mits HD ready 55".
First off what do you think of this system?
My receiver has the feature called (YPAO) Parametric room aucustic optimizer. I was wondering if anyone has used this and how accurate is it? I have been reading about all the different settings you can do to your system to dial it in, and to say the least I'm very confused :confused: The sub hookup has me confused the worst, is there any one out there with a system close to mine and if so can you give me any pointers. If I use the
YPAO feature will this make all the proper settings I need to get the best performance out of my sub and speakers. I'm very new at this so please use layman terminololgy. I was sold $450.00 worth of monster wire and cable to hook this system up, did I really need to buy this good of cables? are there any other name brand connector that can be bought local that will give me the same results for a better cost? Any comments would be appreciated. I have thick skin so don't hold back your comments.
Post edited by Rookie on

Comments

• sowen010599
    sowen010599 Posts: 343
    edited January 2004
    Options
    I have the RX-V2400 receiver. It's very similar to the one you have (just a few more features). I think YPAO, while being very accurate for the most part, needs a little help here and there. Run it first, then double check all of the settings it made. With my setup, everything was dead on except for distance, and speaker level. Pick up a sound level meter from Radio Shack (50 bucks), set your volume to 0, and calibrate your speaker levels to 75db. Use a tape measure to accurately set your speaker distance. Keep in mind too that YPAO doesn't do anything below 63hz, so your pretty much on your own with the sub.