sub box

Systems
Systems Posts: 14,873
edited January 2004 in Car Audio & Electronics
If I were to make a sub box from MDF ( 1 or 2 10" subs), and then placed this box into a slightly larger metal container, would this affect the sound much? The metal box will be open on the side that the speakers are facing, and the box will be well insulated.

Just wondering b/c I want something that I can seal tight if need be with a door on the metal box(subs turned off), so that they will be protected from the elements (it'll be in a Jeep).

I'm a noob to all this stuff, so be gentle :D
Testing
Testing
Testing
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• TrappedUnder Ice
    TrappedUnder Ice Posts: 975
    edited January 2004
    easier way to do this...would be to use ruberized protectant/undercoatin on the outside...cant remember name of it off hand- and have the subs down fireing... that should take care of any issues. Depending on the subs...the Weather should not be an issue this way
  • Systems
    edited January 2004
    Yeah, that might work also, but I want something that will be totally waterproof, and capable of being sealed tight.

So do you think the sound would be affected if the box was placed in a metal container thats open on one side? I figured it just be like a smaller version of a car trunk..
    Testing
    Testing
    Testing
  • MacLeod
    MacLeod Posts: 14,358
    edited January 2004
    It is possible. Bass is non directional so, to a point, it doesnt really matter which way the sub is firing. There may be some resonance from the metal and that can muck up the waveform a bit. Its really hard to say.