db6500 or db690 in a Grand Cherokee?

Systems
Systems Posts: 14,873
edited February 2004 in Car Audio & Electronics
Hi,

I'm about to upgrade the stock stereo in my 2004 Grand Cherokee (NOT the Infinity system) and am considering the following:

Alpine 9813 HU along with:

either the db690s in the front doors and db650s in the rear doors

OR

db6500 component system for the front with db650s for the rear doors.

My concern with the db690s is having the tweeters down low as opposed to ear-level with the dash-mounted tweeters in the db6500 system. Should I be concerned? Also, the sales guy said that I would loose "tons of bass" with the 6500 instead of going with the db690s. They have and sell both there.

I am a recording engineer and am not a "boom and sizzle" kind of person. I much prefer a flat, unhyped system. The stock stereo is unbearable with how flabby and boomy the bottom end is.

If any of the experts here could give me some advice, I'd greatly appreciate it.

Many thanks,
-Larry
Testing
Testing
Testing
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• sntnsupermen131
    sntnsupermen131 Posts: 1,831
    edited January 2004
    why not get 6500 for the front, 690s for the back?
    thats what i would do...
    -Cody
  • PoweredByDodge
    PoweredByDodge Posts: 4,185
    edited January 2004
    component in front / coaxial in back / and a 300 w 10" sub... why the sub? u said you're a reccording engineer, as such i assume u appreciate the full breadth of your music... in a car, you'll need the sub... not for boom boom, but just to flesh it all out.
    The Artist formerly known as PoweredByDodge
  • Systems
    edited January 2004
    Putting db690s in the rear doors instead of the db650s sounds like a great idea, but according to the "Fit Guide" on this site, 6x9s won't fit in the rear doors of a Grand Cherokee. If anyone knows this not to be true, let me know.