Noob Question: Recommended Wattage

TonyPTX
TonyPTX Posts: 545
edited December 2003 in Car Audio & Electronics
OK,
When it comes to car audio, I'm a serious novice.

I've been wanting to upgrade the basic system in my '03 F-150 for a while and came across a good deal on some Polk db570's at Crutchfield (buy one pair, get second half off).

I figured upgrading the speakers should be a starting point over the OEM paper woofers and wizzer cones.

I got one 570's mounted and wanted to test to make sure it worked before I put the door panel back on and all I could say was that the sound wasn't that great (read distortion) (i directed the balance and fade to that one speaker). I'm using the stock HU (Ford's rendition of the Visteon CD6) that's supposed to put out 80W (I'm guessing 20W/channel). I had the volume about half way and didn't want to go any higher for fear of blowing the speaker.

So my question here is, "Is a 4 channel amp in my future?" or can I get by for a little while with the stock HU?

Tony
Damn....8 lines...I've gotta put my sig on a diet now....
Post edited by TonyPTX on

Comments

• Systems
    Systems Posts: 14,873
    edited December 2003
    so does your truck have one of the "premier" audio lines from ford?
    or just the basic one that comes with every vehicle?
    -Cody
    Testing
    Testing
    Testing
  • TonyPTX
    edited December 2003
    A bit more info.....I was being rushed on the first post...

I don't remember seeing anything about it being a premium system or (audiophile) as some of them are called. It's just the standard AM/FM/6-Disc In-Dash Changer (although the back of the unit had two large wire harness plugs going to it).

SO to answer your question, I'll have to assume it's NOT a premium system and from the looks of the cheapie OEM speakers...