Help a noob decide: Onkyo HT-S760 HTiB vs Polk RM6600/6700 or component setup?

Options
BoostedA4
BoostedA4 Posts: 10
edited December 2003 in Speakers
Hey all,

I'm an audio noob looking to get into my first home audio setup. Currently, I just use the speakers built into the tv. I'm more looking for the home theater surround setup than for music enjoyment. It will be used for XBOX, DVD's, TV (mainly sports) and CD's. I have a fairly tight budget and really don't wanna go much beyond 800 for speakers + receiver (I know it's not much, but it'll get me started).

Now I've been doing some research, and for awhile I was dead set on the Onkyo HT-S760 home theater. Everyone gives it rave reviews and it can be had shipped to my home for $450 brand new. Although this seems to be perfect for me, many have said I should go to a more component oriented route for future upgrades. That being said, I started looking at polk.

I can purchase the 5 RM6600 satellites for $300 brand new. I figure from there, I could purchase a decent 6.1 receiver (onkyo TX-SR601 for $360) and then work on getting the best deal for a powered Polk Sub, like the PSW303.

I've also started to play around with purchasing two bookshelves, a center channel, two surrounds, and a powered sub in addition to the onkyo receiver. At crutchfield, I can get a nice discount on the sub if I buy $500 of Polk speakers. In going this route, I'm kind of clueless. Would the RTi-38's, CSi30, and FXi30 with the PSW303 be a completely compatible setup? Is there a better (cheaper?) route I could take buying the bookshelf, center channel, and surrounds separately?

To sum up my options, here is what I've come up with:

Onkyo HT-S760 $450
RM6600 satellites, PSW303 sub, Onkyo TX-SR601 receiver $800
RM6700 satellites, PSW303 sub, Onkyto TX-SR601 receiver $1000
RTi28s, CSi30, FXi30, PSW303, Onkyo TX-SR601 receiver ($1100)