new alternator

Systems
Systems Posts: 14,873
edited November 2003 in Car Audio & Electronics
my question is about the alternator and batteries. i just purchased a 180 amp alternator for my 97' saturn sc2. i posted about a month ago about a battery question and someone suggested having two batteries. i also contacted audiobahn (sorry i know you guys don't like audiobahn) and they told me that i would be fine with a dual battery set-up. i'm going to be drawing at max draw 240 amps.
1. what size battery am i going to need?

2. what kind of battery will work for my car?
(for daily driving use not competition)

3. what brand battery do you recommend?

4. what is a dual battery kit and where can i get one if needed?

5. how do I wire these with the alternator?

6. what size power cable should i run off the alternator?

sorry for all the questions, but i'm pretty new with all this stuff, and there aren't a whole lot of stereo shops around that are willing to just sit and answer questions for me, they just try and get my to buy stuff that i don't need. and the ones that will answer questions don't seem to really know what there talking about. so i appreciate all the help that you guys give me, and have a happy thanksgiving.
Testing
Testing
Testing
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• MTXMAN
    MTXMAN Posts: 682
    edited November 2003
    bout the only answer that i can think of off hand is to run 1/0 guage wire...
    Hemi: (HEM -e) adj. Mopar in type, V8, hot tempered, native to the United States, carnivorous, eats primarily Mustangs, Camaros, and Corvettes. Also enjoys smoking a good import now and then to relax.
  • CPHILHOWER
    CPHILHOWER Posts: 343
    edited November 2003
    I would reccomend an Optima battery. I use an orange top myself. Mainly due to the requirements of my vehicle. Top posts are reversed. Yellow wont work without a rewire. Orange top has been discontnued. Now in its place is a Reverse Red top. You could use either the Yellow or Red.