??'s on amping Polk EX 3550 comps & Polk db690's

Kschultz76
Kschultz76 Posts: 59
edited November 2003 in Car Audio & Electronics
Hi everyone, this is my first time in this message board, but there seems to be lots of good input from people so I'm hoping to get some good information.

I am getting a set of Polk EX 3550 5.25" (rms 10-85) comp's for the front doors of my 97 olds cutlass supreme. Shortly after that I will be replacing my alpine 6x9's (rms 30) in rear deck with Polk db690's (rms 10-100) unless someone can talk me into the MMC690 MOMO's. I will be using a 4 channel amp to run all 4 speakers, but am having a difficult time choosing the right amp. I'm not so much concerned about making things ultra loud as I am about making GOOD CLEAR sound! I'm budgeted at around 200-250 to spend on amp itself. I have looked at the following amps as my most likely choices:

Rockford Fosgate 301x 40x4 @ 4ohm RMS
Rockford Fosgate 501x 65x4 @ 4ohm RMS
MTX Thunder 404 50x4 @ 4ohms RMS

Would the RF 301 be too little power? Would the RF 501 be too much power? I'm leaning towards the RF 501x, just concerned it would be too much power.

I already have a 12" blaupunkt sub with a 210 rms amp driving it in a custom ported box that I built.

Any educated input anyone out there has for me would be really helpful, thanks.

Kevin
Post edited by Kschultz76 on

Comments

• sntnsupermen131
    sntnsupermen131 Posts: 1,831
    edited November 2003
    you could easily put 125 watts on all of those speakers
    if you can afford it, go with a 100x4 watt amplifier
    -Cody
  • PoweredByDodge
    PoweredByDodge Posts: 4,185
    edited November 2003
    60 x 4 is about the lowest you can go and still have it sound "nice"....

150 x 4 is about the highest you can go and not risk doing damage to the speakers (barring you do some slight modifications and cross them over in such a manner that allows you to dump assloads of power to them).

so ya -- 100 x 4 is peachy on those like cody said.