Ok, newbie wants advice on a setup

Options
drumsnspace
drumsnspace Posts: 6
edited November 2003 in Speakers
Hello,

I am new to the world of mid- and high-quality home theatre. I recently purchased a Harmon-Kardon AVR 225 (check out the stats here:

http://shop.store.yahoo.com/hometheaterphiles/avr225.html )

I also bought a CSi30 center channel. I think I got a good price on the receiver ($220) but an average deal on the center channel ($175). I am running some expensive 16 guage wire, and am currently using my roomates Bose speakers as mains (not sure what model, but they are fairly old bookshelf speakers with 10" drivers, they sound pretty good with fair bass).

I live in a multi-unit townhouse and expect to do so for a long time, so volume (particularly bass) is not important. Actually, I would avoid deep, loud bass since it will just cause problems with neighbors. I would like speakers that make movies sound good, and so I can hear the jets fly around the room in Top Gun (for example).

I would like to know what set-up to go with? Eventually I will be buying my own mains, and of course I want surrounds. I don't think I really need a rear center, I am not sure what they do anyway.

I was thinking of buying a pair of RTi38's from Crutchfield for about $500 and getting a free 202 sub. I do not really want a powered sub though for the reason above.

Should I get floor-standing speakers? Or stick with the bookshelfs?

I could buy 2 RTi38's with the sub for Christmas and use them as surrounds until my roomate moves, and then either buy another pair for surrounds, or RTi28's, or FXi30's for surrounds.

Or I could buy the RTi28's or FXi30's for surround now and leave the main's for when my roomate moves out.

Or I could buy a couple of towers (no idea what kind) for mains and move the Bose's to the back for surround.

Or I could start over with one of those newer centers since the CSi30 doesn't seem to match very much that is currently offered!!!!!!