Cartridge recommendation for Vintage Pioneer PL-570?

Options
dpgaloot
dpgaloot Posts: 26
edited December 2012 in 2 Channel Audio
Hi all,

I recently picked up a nice PL-570 and have been enjoying it. The cartridge, however, is due to be refreshed. It is currently running an old Grado MF1. Is it worth replacing to a newer cartridge, or would I be better off hunting for a replacement stylus? I'm just getting back into vinyl so I'm a bit of a noob to turntables.

Thanks!
--
dpgaloot

HT: Carver C-19, (2) Carver TFM-35 running as monoblocks, SRS 1.2tl
2 Channel Audio: VPI Aries I, McIntosh C2300, Carver Black Beauty tube amps, JBL L-220
Post edited by dpgaloot on

Comments

• SCompRacer
    SCompRacer Posts: 8,357
    edited November 2012
    Options
    A quick search at lpgear shows they only offer a Grado MF1 replacement stylus for $85. No aftermarket stylus is listed.

http://www.lpgear.com/product/GRASTYMF1PL.html

ebay shows an NOS for less.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Grado-tan-stylus-vintage-New-Old-Stock-fits-several-models-see-listing-/330833146342?pt=US_Record_Player_Turntable_Parts&hash=item4d073131e6

So, sometimes it might be best to replace the cartridge rather than go the stylus route.

Two questions, what is your budget and what phono pre amp/phono stage do you have? That determines whether you can use a low output MC (moving coil) cartridge or stay with higher output MM (moving magnet).
    Salk SoundScape 8's * Audio Research Reference 3 * Bottlehead Eros Phono * Park's Audio Budgie SUT * Krell KSA-250 * Harmonic Technology Pro 9+ * Signature Series Sonore Music Server w/Deux PS * Roon * Gustard R26 DAC / Singxer SU-6 DDC * Heavy Plinth Lenco L75 Idler Drive * AA MG-1 Linear Air Bearing Arm * AT33PTG/II & Denon 103R * Richard Gray 600S * NHT B-12d subs * GIK Acoustic Treatments * Sennheiser HD650 *
  • gdb
    gdb Posts: 6,012
    edited November 2012
    Options
  • mhardy6647
    mhardy6647 Posts: 33,090
    edited November 2012
    Options