Polk mm104 w/2 channel 2000watt max Lanzar amp

Systems
Systems Posts: 14,873
edited October 2003 in Car Audio & Electronics
I'm pretty new to car audio, and I just wanted to make sure I'm not gonna mess anything up, well...anything ELSE. Okay, I've got a 2 channel, 2000 watt max Lanzar vibrant amp and am waiting on my momo 104 sub to get here. The amp specs are telling me 500w rms per channel, is that gonna be okay to run the new sub? Also, is there a suggested gauge wire for hooking up subs? Any advice would help. Thanks.
Testing
Testing
Testing
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• C-Man
    C-Man Posts: 307
    edited October 2003
    If you could put up a link to the Lanzar amp that would be helpful. If the amp is a 1000w rms @ 4 ohm mono that would be quite a bit too much for a single mm104. You could do it, just make sure you keep the gain low and don't over-drive the sub. The mm104's like around 500 a piece.
    The Viberant series amps are generally overrated some. You'll probably get more like 80-90% of the rated power out of the amp so I think you should do ok like I said.
    I don't know what your future plans are in car audio... adding another amp, getting bigger amps. If you plan on adding another fairly large amp in the near future, you may wanna just throw 1/0 guage wire into your car. You've already got a thousand watt amp and it's always good to have the larger wire for future upgrades. That amp itself will probably do just fine on 4 guage, so if you have no plans for upgrade or addition in the near future and wanna save some money, that would work out just fine also.
    Come to think of it that amp will probably only accept 4 guage so if you wanted to run 1/0 guage wire you'd need to run it to a distribution block that will accept a 1/0 input and has at least 4 guage outputs. You also might wanna consider getting a 1 farad capacitor for that amp, especially if you have a stock electrical system.

Sum it up Chris.......