Tannoy D100 cap upgrade.... To mod or not to mod?

thetawave2
thetawave2 Posts: 268
edited May 2012 in DIY, Mods & Tweaks
Hey guys. I read somewhere on here that around 20 yrs old, speakers tend to benefit from replacing the capacitors. My Tannoy D100s, having been produced in the mid nineties, are coming up on that birthday fairly soon. I was wondering how difficult it would be for a first-time speaker modder to upgrade the capacitors. Would it be worth buying a soldering iron and my time and effort? Is there anything else I could do in there fairly easily while I'm at it (e.g. resistors)?

Although I haven't done any work with electronics in the past few years, I did use a soldering iron for some simple projects back in my tech classes in middle school, so it's not a foreign concept to me. And, I'm no electrical engineer but I do have a good grasp of the basics from my physics class. If the project would give me a good return so far as performance, I'd definitely be willing to read up on it, do a bit of research, shop around for the caps, et c.
My Stereo: Tannoy D100s, Yaqin MC-100B, VPI Traveler, Dynavector 10x5 MC Phono Cartridge, heavily modified Yaqin MS-22B phono preamp, TEAC EQA-20 equalizer, Belkin PureAV PF30 Power Conditioner, Canare 4s11 speaker cables, Custom dust cover from DigitalDeckCovers
Post edited by thetawave2 on

Comments

• thetawave2
    edited May 2012
    I also have a pair of Polk Monitor 40s I could practice on, if a practice run would offer valuable experience....
    My Stereo: Tannoy D100s, Yaqin MC-100B, VPI Traveler, Dynavector 10x5 MC Phono Cartridge, heavily modified Yaqin MS-22B phono preamp, TEAC EQA-20 equalizer, Belkin PureAV PF30 Power Conditioner, Canare 4s11 speaker cables, Custom dust cover from DigitalDeckCovers
  • thsmith
    thsmith Posts: 6,082
    edited May 2012
    I think they would beneifit. My SDA 1Cs certainly did.
    Speakers: SDA-1C (most all the goodies)
    Preamp: Joule Electra LA-150 MKII SE